Feel-good desserts-for-the-soul

Standard

Feeling down, sad, gloomy, depressed and other synonyms for ‘bluer than blue’ that you can think of? Well, here’s a few feel-good things I recommend you do (and eat)!

***

I “discovered” a few things that I’d like to share to help you get out of the rut (if you’re in one) – both awesome finds and films and recommended services.

For starters, I want to share something for the soul, which I like to call dessert-for-the-soul (since food for the soul is overused). Besides, dessert is way better than the main course. Haha!

pic from net

pic from net

If you feel angry at the world or under the clouds for some reason, if you keep on blaming people for all the messed up things happening in your  life, and most of all, if you feel nobody loves you, be sure to watch “Most” The Movie. It’s a trailer but it hits home. I won’t spoil the excitement but I’ll just say it’s about the greatest love of all time. As I said before, I’m not holy nor do I consider myself righteous but I do believe in a higher being. Click on the link, you won’t regret it. Maybe we can even talk about it later on.

Another awesome film to watch is “It’s complicated” starring Meryl Streep, Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin. The film is about an ex-couple dating again which gets more complicated by the day. It’s the perfect film to watch with your family, especially with your mom. It’s both funny yet so real.

pic from net

pic from net

Plus, the 2010 comedy-action-based-on-a-book film “Scott Pilgrim vs. the world” is sooooo awesome! It was sooo fun to watch even if the story is simply about a boy who is in love with a girl and who needs to defeats all the girl’s evil ex-es. Couldn’t take my eyes off the screen and had so many spurts of laughter. I love the treatment of the film. The makers were probably gamers. Hehe. Setting is in Canada, eh. Trust me, you’ll love it as much as I did. Wasn’t surprised when I found out the director is also the one behind “Hot Fuzz,” an English comedy film about a city cop being relocated to the province, another must watch.

Choose any one or two or even all of these four films and in less than an hour or so, you’ll feel better. Way better.

Next on the list is.. TGIF’s Oreo sandwiches! The best dessert ever!

TGIF's best dessert by far

The dessert is made up of two oreo sandwiches with vanilla ice cream in the middle, drizzled with chocolate and caramel syrup. We thought it would be small so we ordered two, one for me and my sis. BUT! It was actually humongous and one is enough for two! Amazing dish. Will try to imitate this dessert. Perfect with their chicken fingers, beef fajitas and jack Daniel’s baby back ribs. No doubt all your worries will vanish after sinking your teeth into these heavenly babies.

For a recommended service to make you relaxed and pretty, try visiting Lay Bare (ATC branch). Here’s a review, 1 being the lowest, 5 the highest

Staff Friendliness: 4

Facilities: 4
Cleanliness: 5
Services: 5
Prices: 5

The staff were all business. Haha. Not much chica chica which I actually like. Though I would have preferred that she smile ever so often. The clinic was a bit small but I guess you don’t need a large floor area to simply wax. Sis said the Makati branch is better but I guess I’ll try to find out for myself. For the others, two thumbs up. The rate is just right.  I love the result of their services. Really nice outcome of everything. I hope they’ll open a branch in Nuvali so it’ll be closer to elbi. But that might be a long shot since there’s already a waxing salon there called Dashing Diva. Below is the rates of Lay Bare.

pic from net

I know there are more feel-good activities to do and I’d love to try them all and blog about them. How about you? Any feel-good activity you’d like to share?

One response »

  1. Pingback: Is sleepy time really a tea flavor? « jlapis

What are your thoughts?

