Easiest pasta ever: Seafood Aglio Olio

Standard

I was looking through our refrigerator when I saw left over clams and half a pack of capellini (a type of super thin pasta similar to angel hair pasta) and I thought, why not make me some seafood aglio olio with fresh home made garlic bread?

my version of seafood aglio olio

Now aglio olio literally means garlic and oil since those are the two main ingredients of this pasta. For my recipe, I added a little something else – fresh tomatoes. Mind you, I didn’t follow any recipe for this. I kinda like experimenting and finding out the mistakes along the way. Hehe. It is so easy to make, you would not believe it.

yummy seafood

You will need:

For the pasta:

1 cup clams (or any seafood for that matter)

1 whole garlic head, coarsely chopped

about 3 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon crushed red pepper

2 fresh tomatoes, diced

capellini pasta (or any pasta available)

a dash of salt and pepper

For the bread:

1/2 cup butter

1/2 garlic, chopped

any kind of bread

What to do:

Heat the olive oil then fry the garlic till golden brown. Add the clams and stir for a few minutes. You can also substitute it with our local tahong if it’s in season, pink salmon or even tuna. Add the crushed red pepper and season to taste. Lastly, add the tomatoes and don’t over stir so that the tomatoes are still nice and crunchy. Combine sauce with cooked pasta. Serve with toasted bread with garlic butter. For the garlic butter, just combine the butter and garlic.

the mealbread with chunky garlic butter

And you’re done! I know Filipinos like the really saucy type of pasta which tastes really, uhm, tasty but this type of pasta is light yet still tastes good.

Side note: If you could see me cook, you’d probably laugh at me since I either run a script through my head or I talk out loud, pretending to be hosting a cooking show, somewhat similar to Rachel Ray. I really should stop watching her show.

Anyway, try this recipe and let me know how it turns out. This recipe is so easy, my post is even short. Kain na! 🙂

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Christmas ala-Lapis « jlapis

What are your thoughts?

