UPLB’s Christmas Lighting. Oh, and Moonleaf.

Standard

Today marked the day when the new UPLB Chancellor Dr. Rex Cruz took oath as the “head of the university.” Today was also the day of ‘the lighting of the campus’ Christmas decorations,’ which is looked forward to by both ‘mga taga UP’ (wanted to use UPians but I don’t think that’s correct) and outsiders. The belen or the nativity is always one of the highlights of eLBi every Holiday season and is located in the middle of carabao park. Last year, Jesus’ manger place had a total makeover: the belen had a loft aka bachelor’s pad. Hehe. This time, they have a stoned/ cemented wall. Di ba, susyal?

the colorful nativity

Of course, the giant Christmas tree, this year colored yellow, is also up and lighted already. I remember before, at the time after typhoon Ondoy, the administration used the branches and twigs from fallen trees to make the Christmas tree. Two claps for recycling.

tree with real gifts! not.

Lastly, there’s the Santa Clause sleigh which debuted last year, if I remember it correctly. Now they’re recycling it and just added a platform beside Mr. Clause so people can have their photo taken with it. I do find it ironic that UP chose Santa to be part of the decorations when in fact UP is “supposed” to be very maka-Pinoy. But the reindeers look cute though.

Santa's sleigh and his elves (whom I do not know)

Anyway, me and my girls (the pencils) decided to check out the trending milk tea place Moonleaf inside a subdivision in UP campus. My friends from Diliman have been bugging me to go to Moonleaf Magiting branch (the first ever branch) for the longest time and I find it amusing that it’s located right across my old  apartment. Sayang. If I still lived there, I’d probably have had milk tea every dinner.

the lil milk tea store

The place is small and cozy, like just about everything in eLBi. We went there at around 9pm on a Friday night so there were only a few kids (read: students) there. I also want to try the new Mediterranean cafe right beside it (I’m a fan of that particular cuisine).

post-it wall by the kids

wintermelon milk tea

I ordered their best seller Wintermelon Milk Tea with Nata while sisterette ordered the Pudding Milk Tea for P75 each (cheap!). They only have one size (large) which I didn’t like since it’s too much for me and they really don’t have a lot of choices in terms of flavors compared to Serenitea or Chatime. Plus, they don’t have Milk Green Tea which is my favorite so Moonleaf is just so-so for me. I think I won’t be visiting the place that much but it does the job if you want some quick milk tea fix.

the mini-menu

their sign looks like a moon. hehe

For other stuff you want to know about the milk tea joint, visit their website.

What are your thoughts?

