On foreign territory

Standard

It’s my third time to go to Malaysia and as I was researching for things to do, I kept on saying, ‘been there, done that, saw that.’ I mean, most websites would say you should go to the Petronas Towers or to the Sunway Lagoon or to Genting Highlands or to the historical heritage Melacca. I’ve been to all four tourist spots but I don’t mind that I have nowhere new to go. Why?

20120703-002121.jpg

I’ll let you in on a little secret of mine: everytime I go abroad, I really don’t care what I do there and whether or not I go on some tour. I honestly just like being in a foreign land, in the middle of unknown roads with multicultural people, hearing languages I can’t understand, smelling odors both pungent and sweet and not really knowing what to do or where to go.

I just like being in a place where I don’t understand the signs, where the currency is different, the fashion is peculiar, where left and right I don’t see a familiar face or restaurant or building. Turista mode.

I remember last year when I went to Vietnam, I wasted one whole day just walking around the neighborhood near our hotel, just putting my right foot in front of my left foot and waiting where they’ll take me, all the while people watching. And mind you, unlike most people in foreign lands who ‘look’ for other people with the same nationality, I, on the other hand, go as far away as possible from the voice speaking in Filipino once I hear words from my native tongue.

I know. I’m weird like that.

But don’t worry. I’m a firm believer that there is always something new to see and experience in any place, even if you’ve been there a million times. Malaysia is no different. Same time tomorrow, I’ll finally be on foreign land again.

4 responses »

  1. I guess if your visiting third time your no longer a foreigner anymore. I won’t call myself on a foreign territory visiting this blog :). I am sure you had a good time.

What are your thoughts?

