Who do I cater to?

Standard

As I look back at some of my recent posts, I’ve come to realize that I have a wide range of readers from different parts of the world with different views and interests. I’m not trying to make it sound like I have a thousand blog followers but I’m quite pleased that I get to interact with different people through my blog and that more and more people are “following” my lil sanctuary of writing.

And because of this, I suddenly asked myself, “Who do I cater to?”

I know that ‘blog experts’ will tell you that one of the secrets and a ‘must-do’ for bloggers is to find one theme or topic that they love, stick with it (eg. blogs on fashion, food, gadgets or traveling) and therefore, cater to a particular target audience. But the reason I first started blogging , aside from my other reason here, was because one day, I was looking for a particular petty something and thinking that the world wide web has everything, I searched for it online and yet I couldn’t find it. So I decided to blog about any topic I could think of as a ‘contribution’ to the cyber library. From product reviews to dogs and cats, from my toes to my new hair, from travelling to reading, from love to poverty, I have posts on anything I feel like writing on. I have a smorgasborg of interests which is obvious in my posts.

Hence, the name of my blog.

So what’s the point of this post? Just that I want to thank the people I’ve met through the blog who take the time to drop by and read (or scan) my posts and that as much as I think I need to stick to just one topic, I’d still like to keep on writing in the same confusing, hodge podge way that I am doing now.

It works for me and I hope it still works for you 🙂

15 responses »

  1. You cater to some highly accomplished readers (& some irregular ones too 🙂 ).
    Well that said, without substance your blog magnet wouldn’t have been able to attract such quality (and am not speaking for me here ;))

What are your thoughts?

