After The Hunger Games Trilogy, what now?

Standard

Long overdue post, I know..

I am an intense reader. Especially if the book captures my attention on the get go that I struggle to keep the book down and have to force myself to sleep. This time, The Hunger Games Trilogy has robbed me of three well-wasted days. Freaking awesome.

The last time I couldn’t put a book down was about three years ago, when I started reading James Clavell’s Shogun series. Oh, and when I read the then ‘in’ Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons books and oh, Memoirs of a Geisha (even before they released the films), among others.

When I come across books like those, books that are filled with adventure, mystery, gore and tragedy, something changes me. Not to sound melodramatic but I really get zapped into the story that even after I put it down, I’m still trapped inside the riveting events which are, of course, fictional.

Escapism? Perhaps. That even after I’ve finished an exceptional book, I ‘struggle’ with my current life now that there are no more pages to read. Haha! It’s not even that I can relate to the characters. It’s how the story is told, how the story is described. And we all know, our minds, our imaginations, are light years better than any Paramount picture. Books really get me more than movies do. I didn’t even super like the Hunger Games film and it was by accident that I started reading the book. But just like any other ‘fan’ of the book, I cannot wait for 2013 when they release the second movie.

20120731-201732.jpg

20120731-201739.jpg

Now my question is (and I am dead serious when I ask this): after a breath taking, heart stopping, don’t-disturb-me-until-I’m-done trilogy like The Hunger Games, what book should I read next?

Note: photos taken from net

6 responses »

  1. Yea. The experience is entirely different from reading it until you watch it. Oh, you might want to try ‘The Devil and Miss Prym’ by Paulo Coelho. Its captivating from start to finish.

What are your thoughts?

