Bread and Butter Spa review

Standard

I’ve been reading a lot of good reviews about the Bread and Butter spa experience from bloggers so when I found a discount coupon for their Nail Art and manicure service, I decided to try it out.

Wrong decision.

The first time I went to their Megamall branch, I had to wait for an hour before I could avail of their waxing service. They told me they could accommodate me and yet failed to do so. The only reason I even tried their service was because my usual go-to waxing spa, Lay Bare, was fully-booked and I needed a wax. When finally the ‘buttercup’ (what they call their employees) assisted me to the waxing room, I again had to wait another 30 minutes before they could do anything on me.

So I said, well, maybe it’s just a bad day. I’ll try again next time with the coupon I bought so as to give them a fair review.

Wrong move again.

Second time around, the girl in the reception area was so rude. I mean, come on, is it because I’m just availing the coupon that’s why you’re showing your fangs? I ignored it and just took my seat. The buttercup started working on my nails and I was glad that I didn’t have to wait unlike before. Unfortunately, I do not recommend their nail art, as you can see in my photos below.

20120615-140356.jpg

20120615-140347.jpg

Not sure if it’s the quality of my nails (if there is such a thing) but the nail art already peeled off the day after when initially they said it would last a week. Boo. Expensive but totally not worth it even with the discount that I have.

For the cons, I guess I like their manicure services, very thorough. I do like their sunny and fun interiors, the fact that they have TV screens for film showing, magazines available for your reading pleasure and even an iPad you can tinker with. But honestly, I’d still recommend Nail-a-holics which has way better services (especially in their Nuvali branch).

Aside from that, I wouldn’t recommend it. I know some of the bloggers who reviewed Bread and Butter were ‘treated’ by the spa, hence, they probably had better services and let’s be honest, are expected to only say good things about their spa experience. So it’s good to read other reviews by people who were not sponsored by the spa for you to be able to get an honest to goodness review. Like this one.

To each his own, as I always say. And no, for now, I will not avail of their services again.

What are your thoughts?

