Korean visa for Philippine passport

Standard

I know there are a lot of articles and blog posts on the subject of Pinoys applying for a Korean visa. But in my case, I have two distinct “situations” which some of you might relate to:

1. I do not have an ITR.
2. I have already travelled to OECD countries.

Now good news for those who share the same situations since frequent travelers and/or those who have visited OECD member countries need no ITR. So that worked fine for me. Remember, no fees were paid. All I needed were the following:

Certificate of employment
Statement of bank account
Recent Passport size ID
Photocopy of passport’s first page & all the stamps/visas to OECD member countries
Filled-up application form

When you get to the embassy, you’ll be given a number, show your documents & you’ll be assigned a window. Frequent travelers & those who’ve gone to OECD countries are assigned to Window 3. My friend who is a first time traveler was assigned to Window 1 (can also be assigned to Window 2).

When it was my turn, the immigration officer just checked my documents & gave me the release slip. I was sitting on the counter for 30 seconds or less. The woman was pretty nice & didn’t ask any questions. I was actually the one who asked if someone else could claim my visa (yes) & whether I needed an authorization slip (no). My friend wasn’t so lucky with the immigration officer, whom she said was a bit on the grumpy side. Plus, they forgot to fill up the last part of the application form (questions on accompanying family members & korean guarantor – both of which I wrote NA) so they had to go back & get a new number. So be sure to fill up all the numbers.

20140208-105836.jpg

Since we applied in the middle of the Christmas, we got our passports back in early January 2014. My friend just brought my release slip & she picked up my passport for me. And yes, it was approved! Love how it was so easy to apply! For more information, visit their website. Korea stories soon! πŸ™‚

4 responses »

  1. hi, stumbled upon your blog. you see, i just got back to the philippines about 4.5 months ago(was a US immigrant) and i’ve been working online for a foreign company that is not taxed/not registered in the philippines for 5 yrs already, thus me having no ITR. do you think i’ll be granted a korean visa? i’m a bit worried because i’ve no ITR and my work is so flexible that i can work anywhere as long as i have my laptop. thanks

What are your thoughts?

