Wicked

Standard

Just like the past musicals in Manila that I’ve been to – Cats, Phantom of the Opera, Mama Mia – Wicked was another huge success! I’m not going to be pretentious and say that I am fan. In fact, I did not know what Wicked was about before I saw it. I haven’t even read the book (though I planned to), I haven’t heard much of their songs and I honestly didn’t know what it was about or how it all started. My sister, on the other hand, is a huge fan ever since. She already saw it in Chicago (the real broadway) and has tons of memorabilia like the original novel, a magnet, shirt and the production hard bound book (and now she has a P400 keychain). She knows all the songs by heart and even has a copy of the album. The show ran for almost 3 hours with a 15 minute break in between. We watched it during a weekend and the theater was full to the brim! Again, I will always say how much I love watching broadways and getting “cultured” because people who watch are so well-dressed and well-mannered. Such a refreshing change from my day-to-day life with grimy Manila!

20140227-102924.jpg

Though I’m a newbie in the Wicked scene, I really liked it. I didn’t get bored even with the 3 hour run. The script was funny, the production design was unbelievably amazing (as always in broadway) and their voices were really out of this world. Especially the two main characters – Elphaba and Glinda – the good and wicked witches. I mean, they all sang live to a live orchestra and their performances just blew me away. Song after song, performance after performance was really a spectacle. I also like the twists and turns of the story, as it is an off shoot from the well-known and beloved Wizard of Oz. And since it’s about witches, of course I would expect some flying to occur. I was not disappointed.

20140227-103028.jpg

Broadway musicals are such a magical and fascinating work of art. I really look up to the performers and people behind it since it is a masterpiece on its own. There really is a different kind of high that you get from watching it.

20140227-103133.jpg

What are your thoughts?

