Village Tavern

Standard

It’s been awhile since I last went to Bonifacio High Street as it is far from my work place. Well, not super far but far enough that I’m too lazy to go there. Haha! But since my friend from the States visited us and wanted to see the so-called high end gimikan of Taguig, we ended up having dinner there. Our restaurant of choice was Village Tavern, located at the Central High Street. Village Tavern’s menu mainly focused on pastas and steaks. The resto was very cozy, with a warm ambiance to it, perfect for get togethers. Plus, when we went there in the middle of the week, there were only a few people there. Be prepared to shell out at least P400 per meal and to wait for the food to be served for about 10 minutes or so.

20140227-103253.jpg

20140227-103259.jpg

I wasn’t able to get photos of all of my friends’ meals so I’ll just share about my own. I ordered their Chicken Kiev (P375) which in a nut shell is Chicken Cordon Bleu. But instead of simple ham and cheese in it, it was filled with pureed asparagus cream which was really good. It was served on a bed of creamy mashed potato with a side of seasoned asparagus. The serving was huge! I mean, if you really wanted to, you could probably just buy one Chicken Kiev plate (consisting of two huge chicken breasts) and two extra rice and voila! A meal for two, Pinoy style. Haha! But seriously, the chicken was cooked perfectly – crispy on the outside but still juicy on the inside. The creamy sauce that was served with it was also really good – not too cheesy that it would be too much on the palate. The meal was really filling that I wasn’t even able to finish it. Had to share it with my friends so as to not waste good food.

20140227-103247.jpg

I was also able to try their pizza which one of my friends ordered – the all cheese and one with prosciutto – and both were good since they had the right amount of ingredients and were cooked in a brick oven. Tasted like authentic pizza. Hehe.

My friends’ orders ranged from ox cheekbones to steak to salad and pastas. None had any complaints so I’m assuming it was good. As for my own meal, I think it’s good value for my money since it was cooked well, the serving was huge and the place is a pretty nice place to hang out at. The service was good too, very friendly servers. All in all, I would definitely go back there for seconds.

What are your thoughts?

