MacBook: track pad problem

Standard

I love my MacBook. Had it for about 7 years now and it’s been going well. I’ve dropped it probably 3 times now (as in like a 2 feet drop), have consistently banged my fingers on the keyboard and have overworked it at the office (or by downloading music). But I love it and have no plans of replacing it in the near future.

Until my trackpad suddenly had a life of its own and the clicker wouldn’t work. I’d drag my cursor but it would highlight something else. Or it would randomly drag my folders everywhere. I tried being patient (I’m not the most patient person in the world) but when it starts to affect my work, I had to do something. So I started planning on bringing it to the Apple Service Center. Good thing though I researched first online for possible solutions. Most techies suggested doing a couple of commands to reset the SMC (look it up) but when I tried it, it didn’t work. Finally, I chanced upon an online article with a different problem – a bulging battery. When I felt my battery – my gosh! – it was actually bulging! Meaning it wasn’t flat. And as the article explained, when I took out my battery, the trackpad and the clicker worked fine! And hasn’t gone crazy since then. Downside is my laptop is now losing a battery pack. Don’t want to buy a new one just yet. But I’m so thankful that my trackpad and clicker are now as good as new! 🙂

20140426-220952.jpg

PS. I took photos of my clicker with and without the battery but the difference visually wasn’t obvious so I opted not to post it (plus my trackpad is dirty. Hehe).

2 responses »

What are your thoughts?

