Cathay Pacific Manila office

Standard

When I went to the PRC for work, our travel agency booked us at Cathay Pacific. I always thought that Cathay was a nice airline. It was, actually, at least since I was flying business class. I had no problem going to PRC via Hong Kong from Manila. Got my luggage at the end of the trip.

However, it’s a slightly different story when I got back to Manila – my luggage got lost! Typical NAIA Terminal 1. Chos! I had to wait for another hour and a half for it. And where did the Pinoy Cathay crew tell me to wait? Either at the lobby (which by the way was NOT a waiting area and therefore, had no seats) or at their office at the 4th floor NAIA Terminal 1 (which is a really sucky and pathetic airport but you already know that so I’ll stick to the topic).

At the Cathay office, I simply walked in and sat down due to sheer exhaustion. No one even greeted me. Finally, this girl noticed me and asked what my business was – all the while chewing her Mcdonalds french fry. How classy. Plus, I had to repeat what I said as they were not listening.

But that’s not the highlight of their office. The highlight is the office itself – water stained roof, ink stained couches and “comfortable” monoblocs. The office wasn’t even properly air conditioned! The saddest part of all? The dying plant right beside me.

20140601-140859.jpg

Oh, Philippines! How and when will we ever improve? Are we really truly content to be just a mediocre, standard society? That might be overly dramatic but as they say, an airport is a reflection and the first impression of the country you are visiting.

What are your thoughts?

