Vacationista: Review of Sydney Star Backpackers

Standard

I have no qualms in flying economy nor staying in a budget hostel or even going on a backpacking trip! And that’s what this Oz trip was all about. I’ll only be spending 3 nights in this city. Just a quick birthday getaway!

 

20151108-085647.jpg

Anyway, as I scanned for affordable places to stay in Sydney via airbnb.com, I came across Sydney Star Backpackers and after reading tons of reviews, I decided I could live there for 3 nights given all their good and bad points. I also like the fact that they are easy to contact and actually give a quick and clear reply. Open communication with my hostel always earns big brownie points for me! For only Php3200, I booked 3 nights at the backpackers’ 4 pax in a room, requesting for the bottom bunk.

 

20151108-090855.jpg

For starters, one of the biggest considerations I chose this backpackers was its location. It was walking distance to the places I wanted to go to including the train station and a Coles supermarket (across the train station exit). I’m a huge fan of walking so this worked out great for me! Aside from that, the price was very affordable since I told myself my budget per night is only about Php1500. I only need a place to sleep in.

 

20151108-085704.jpg

It had the basic amenities plus the free breakfast was a bonus (though I didn’t get to eat. Haha!). The room was nice and clean (and small but that’s expected) and the bed was comfy enough with a pillow, beddings and a comforter. They provide a big locker and a small one with a key (needs AUS$10 as deposit). They had a separate shower and toilet – as with most backpackers – which was great. Best part was my awesome roommates – one from Spain, the other from Germany – who were both so nice, interesting and fun to talk with (Hi girls! =).

 

20151108-085603.jpg

During my whole stay, not once did I come across any other tenant from the other rooms. I’d hear them walk or scuffle outside but never met them (excluding my roommates of course) which was awesome. Even more awesome was that come 10pm, it was so quiet in the inn! Everyone respected the house rules. Even though the nearest train station was King’s Cross, known as Sydney’s ‘red light district,’ the inn was far enough and more in the ‘quiet’ part of the area so the partying won’t really bother you.

 

20151108-085634.jpg

From King’s Cross train station, take the Darlinghurst exit, turn right, walk until you see the huge Coca Cola billboard sign (left side) then turn right and walk for about 5 minutes until you arrive at Bourke St. Turn right then walk a minute then you’ll see a brick apartment on your right with the Red Star Backpackers sign (their old name).

 

20151108-090911.jpg

20151108-090923.jpg

What are your thoughts?

