Blessed: Thankful for work

Standard

I am not what you would call a workaholic. As much as possible, I try to finish all of my work within the 8hour timeframe given by the office. If I do overtime, it is only because there really is a lot, lot, lot to do or something urgent suddenly came up. But I believe in work-life balance, proper time management and thus leaving the office on time. And when I do leave, I also leave all my work-related thoughts and I do not check my work mail. You can say I am a regular working girl.

But coming from an old project that made me not like my job at all, that made me hate life in general, that made me cry out & desperately hang on to whatever I could, I am super thankful that God led me to my current project in the same organization. It’s challenging, I still make mistakes but I thoroughly enjoy it. I learn a lot from it & am blessed with super nice & helpful colleagues. I am grateful that through my paycheck, I am able to support missionaries, share it with my loved ones, give back to God, save & invest and have more than enough for my expenses. I am thankful for this job that doesn’t make me dread Mondays & doesn’t make me not want to get out of bed in the morning.

But with that, I am also thankful for my old project because without it, I wouldn’t  have known what I really wanted to do. Without my old project & the experiences that came with it, I wouldn’t have known this current project I am in. So I am also thankful for my old job and the people with it. 

Ever since, I have held on to &memorized & placed on my work table the verse Colossians 3:23-24 “Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive your inheritance. You are serving the Lord Christ.”

It’s a great reminder that in my work, God is ultimately my boss. This in turn makes work enjoyable & bearable, knowing that through your work, you are able to worship & serve the Lord.

What are your thoughts?

