How to score designer, luxury bags for a lower price

Standard

I have a thing for bags. Nice bags. A bit expensive, designer, luxury bags. Some people like gadgets or shoes or miniature things. I like bags. I could wear a simple, all black outfit while toting a really nice bag for the rest of my life.

But here’s the thing: I don’t think I could ever spend more than P40,000 for any bag. I can’t imagine carrying a bag that’s too expensive (unless given as a present. Hihi). I guess I’m still practical like that. So how was I able to buy the bags that I have right now? Below are four ways to score designer, luxury bags for a lower price, which can also be applied to any other item:

1. Buy the item at the country where it is originally made. This is a no brainer that any product bought in the original country it came from would be cheaper. Not only because there’s no shipping cost, but also more often than not, taxes are deducted for tourists. This is the case for my very first Louis Vuitton bag bought in Europe.


2. Buy at outlet stores. When I say outlet stores, these are the legitimate ones that you should ensure have original and authentic items. The reason why they are sold in outlet stores is because they are from the previous or old season. If you don’t like following the crowd and being ‘on trend,’ like me, then this is the best option for you. You get the same quality of items but for a much lower price. Tip: Choose classic looking bags that would look great any season! Scored Prada bags in an outlet store when we went to Florence, Italy.


3. Buy at Duty Free shops, particularly in airports. There’s a reason why airports have a lot of designer shops in them. Not only are they conveniently located in terminals, they also have no taxes. Bonus points if you get lucky enough to get a coveted bag on sale, just like my Longchamp Cuir in yellow. Tip: If you really like a certain bag, ask the saleslady personally because sometimes, the item is on sale, even though there’s no sign.


4. Buy pre-loved items. This is definitely one of the best ways to score some designer bags. If you browse the net, one of the most known, well-respected and safest places to buy pre-loved bags is Japan’s Komehyo. Japan is known to be very strict and careful in selling bags, plus the fact that fake items are illegal in their country, so you know you’re getting the real deal. Not to mention, the quality the bags are in are so amazing! They look close to brand new, as if it wasn’t used, which makes it great value for money. The Japanese are known to want the latest designs and so when one bag is already out of season, they instantly sell it even if it’s still in good condition. Take note though that depending on the item, sometimes the original box or dust bag won’t be included. Tip: Invest in leather bags as this will last you forever if you take care of it.

 

Now, if you’re a snob, you’re probably thinking eww, pre-loved. Well, it doesn’t bother me and it doesn’t matter to me. Generally, I wouldn’t buy a preloved designer bag from online sellers simply because I fear they might be fake but Komehyo is the real shiz. If preloved is good enough for celebrities, socialites and even my millionaire friend, then it’s great enough for me.

Make sure to care for your bags by not letting them get wet, keeping humidifiers in the closets where you place them, having it professionally cleaned and using bag stuffers to keep their shape.

Hope these options give you hope that we need not shell out all of our savings or max out our credit cards just to meet our desires and wants. Friendly reminder though: make sure to balance your expenses and still have savings left. Because what’s the point of having a great bag if in the future, you’ll just end up in the streets with nothing?

2 responses »

  1. Very interesting and lovely post! I love handbags and I agree with all your advice. Buying pre loved is something I’m considering, up until now I’ve only purchased in store or at an outlet.
    Do you review your handbags? I’d love to read those posts

What are your thoughts?

