Vacationista: US Trip Day 14 (The Alamo, San Antonio River Walk, San Marcos Premium Outlets, Razoo’s)

Standard

The next day, my mom wanted to rest at home so it was just me, my cousin, sister and brother-in-law who went to The Alamo (which my mom had already seen too). After breakfast of freshly baked Pillsbury cinnamon rolls and coffee, we went to The Alamo. 


There was a bit of a line going inside the church but it was moving quickly so no hassle. No photos are allowed inside the church but around the area was ok. The Alamo’s façade reminded me of the churches in Iloilo.

We then had lunch at the nearby mall’s food court. I love food courts! Had one of the best meals there during our trip. The serving was huge so me and my cousin shared the lunch set ($7). We had the bourbon chicken, orange chicken and rice. The other set was my sister and brother-in-laws. Masarap na, sulit pa!

 

We made our way to the San Antonio River Walk and bought tickets ($10 each), where you basically ride a boat with a tour guide. The area is surrounded by restaurants and hotels. There was also a line here but after two boats, we were able to aboard one. The boat goes around the area and the tour guide will share bits of info here and there – from places where movies were shot to a friendly duck who eats the restaurants’ food to the history of the hotels. It lasted for about 45 minutes. It was fun but I could also do without it and simply walk around the dedicated path ways.

We then went to the San Marcos Premium Outlets. Brands range from Nike, Aeropostale, H&M, Forever 21, Gap to Old Navy while on the other end of the area were the high end brands like Prada, Gucci, Nordstrom Rack to Tommy Hilfiger. I checked out Prada, Kate Spade and Gucci but nothing caught my eye. Tory Burch was a warzone since they had an ongoing sale when we visited.


 

Dinner was at a Louisiana style restaurant called Razoo’s. The place looked eclectic and a bit homey but I absolutely loved their menu’s design. It was so fun and graphic! I even read the whole comic strip.


We had the fried pickles and fried jalapenos with cheese as appetizer, two different styles of fish meals, gumbo soup and fresh salad with shrimp. Again, servings were huge so we had a lot of left overs. Our whole dinner was about $60.

Right across Razoo’s was a store called Five Below, which sells items nothing over $5. Lots of really cute items and so glad we went in because I was able to buy a charger with two USB hubs. Saw one in ikea but it wasn’t compatible with our voltage so I was ecstatic with this one – and for only $5. Perfect for travelling and to simultaneously charge my iphone and power bank phone case!

Went home and gifted mom with our leftovers. Haha! Had a huge ass pecan cheesecake from Costco as dessert.

What are your thoughts?

